top of page

What If You Just Met Jesus?

You may be thinking, "Wait, what?!" Just bear with me.


A few days ago, my new manager asked me a very odd question, "What type of candy did the person in front of me order two weeks ago?" At first, I was confused, until she continued with something like, "two weeks ago, when I knew I was going to be working here, I came in as a customer, just to get a feel for what the employees were like. You helped me and checked me out." Of course, I didn't remember that at all, since I get a dozen customers a day.


She continued, "I came on truck day and made sure to get in the path of every employee. The person in the fabric department was the only one who greeted me." Even though she said it in such a nice way, it was like a punch to the gut. I work at Hobby Lobby, so it's my goal to greet and help every customer I meet, and yet I hadn't even greeted my boss. Ouch.


However, as I left, I suddenly realized that my manager had been a perfect example of what Paul wrote in Hebrews 13:1-2,


1 Keep on loving one another as brothers and sisters. 2 Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it.


And What John wrote in John 1:9-11,


9 The true light, which gives light to everyone, was coming into the world. 10 He was in the world, and the world was made through him, yet the world did not know him. 11 He came to his own, and his own people did not receive him.


Jesus came into the world as a man, and many people didn't see Him as the Lord. In fact, almost no one knew he was God until after they had met Him and talked to Him and most never realized it until long after His death. Just like my manager, Jesus talked to them before they knew that He was the Lord and they didn't receive him. Ouch.


But what if Jesus were to do that today? What if that homeless man on the side of the road asking for help was Jesus, or an angel sent by Him. Of course, we know that the next time Jesus comes, it will be in power and glory as He comes out of heaven (Revelation 1:7). Even so, in Matthew 25:35-40, Jesus said,


35 For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me,36 I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’37 Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink?38 And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you?39 And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’40 And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’

But what if we met Him and turned away? What if that homeless man you passed on the sidewalk was an angle, or even worse, a man who actually needs to eat. What would happen if we were to show Jesus' love and compassion just by handing out food and water? My biggest question is this: What are you going to do to bring heaven down to earth? That's a question only you can answer. For me, right now, it's giving water to people I see who don't have any. But for you, it can be anything.


For at one time you were darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Walk as children of light

31 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page